Hi I’m Brittany!

Home 2022 Community Introduce Yourself Hi I’m Brittany!

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Brittany Ward
    Participant

Hi guys, my name is Brittany Ward! I’m originally from Maryland, but I now live in Grottoes VA. I have a small farm where I keep my 3 horses, 3 dogs, 4 goats, 2 cats, and pet ball python. I have an amazing husband, who supports me endlessly, loves animals, and has a natural gift with them.

I first fell in love with horses at 18 months old, when my mom made the mistake of taking me to the barn for the first time. After waiting to begin lessons (years spent endlessly reading horse books, watching horse movies, playing with Breyer horses, and riding my spring horse in the living room…I think I wore through at least 2 VHS tapes of the Black Stallion), I started riding when I was 5 at a local lesson barn. They had massive string of school horses with all kinds of quirks, behavioral issues, and styles so I got an early start on learning how to work with different kinds of horses.

I started competing in hunters and jumpers when I was 8 after I met my trainer/coach, who is responsible for my entire foundation as an animal trainer and horsewoman. He made so many things possible, including the fulfillment of my childhood dream of having a horse of my own. Shortly after I started working with him I got my first pony, Jewel, and then my first horse, Cal, when I was 12. I was very blessed and always had the opportunity to ride other horses, however, since my trainer was always taking in new horses for training. I was always learning something new! My trainer is like a second father to me, his family like my family, so I am excited to get the opportunity to work with him again in the coming years.