Greetings From Lauren in Bluemont Virginia!

Home 2022 Community Introduce Yourself Greetings From Lauren in Bluemont Virginia!

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Lauren Johnson
    Participant

Where are you from?
    I’m originally from Warners New York (near Syracuse) but now I live in Bluemont Virginia with my husband, four horses, two cats and a crazy juggle

-What is your current profession?
    I work as an eLearning Manager at an engineering association. I help engineers design online courses and create videos so they can help educate other engineers in the field. I can’t say it’s my dream job, but it’s helped me buy a small farm and given me the freedom (both schedule-wise and financially) to do more with my horses, so I’m grateful for that. If ya’ll ever need help with video editing hit me up!

-What does your life with horses look like?
    I used to work as a trainer and riding instructor in New York – did it for 6 years. My family had trail horses growing up, and I started taking formal lessons around age 10. I started running barrels and gaming around 12, and then got into showing Quarter horses at 14. When I started college I helped manage a private boarding facility and taught lessons on the side. Then when I graduated I started working in Carmel New York at a country club as a stable manager. I did all aspects of horse care, training, exercising, teaching lessons, leading trail rides, coaching at horse shows. I got CHA certified as a Level 4 English Riding Instructor and Level 2 Western Instructor. It was a lot of fun but the schedule was grueling. I loved it but also didn’t have much of a life outside of that job for 4 years.